You're logged in as |

Academic Calendar

Summer 2018
April 2 - April 12, 2018 Mon. - Thurs. Pre-registration for Summer courses.
April 13 - 24, 2018 Fri. - Tues. Summer registration closed for Fall registration (online via Banner for continuing students).
April 25 - June 27, 2018 Wed. - Wed. Registration period for Summer courses.
June 24, 2018 Sun. Residence halls open.
June 25, 2018 Mon. Summer Session begins.
June 27, 2018 Wed. Last day to change courses. (All students MUST be in their registered courses by Thursday, June 28.)
July 4, 2018 Wed. Independence Day holiday. No University exercises.
July 10, 2018 Tues. Last day to change grade options.
Aug 4 - 7, 2018 Sat. - Tues. Reading period.
August 7, 2018 Tues. Last day to drop a course. Last day to initiate a Course Performance Report via ASK.
Aug 8 - Aug 10, 2018 Wed. - Fri. Final examination period.
August 10, 2018 Fri. Summer Session ends.
August 11, 2018 Sat. Residence halls close.
Fall 2018
Aug. 1, 2018 Wed. Last day for payment of charges.
Aug. 28, 2018 Tues. Beginning of Graduate School Orientation.
Sept. 1, 2018 Sat. Beginning of College Orientation.
Sept. 4, 2018 Tues. Opening Convocation at 4:00 p.m. Registration of new students for the first semester (7:00 pm to midnight).
Sept. 5, 2018 Wed. Classes of the first semester begin. Web registration begins at 8:00 a.m.
Sept. 6, 2018 Thurs. First day of RISD Fall Session.
Sept. 13, 2018 Thurs. Last day to register for a Fall RISD course without a fee or change a grade option for a Fall RISD course - (5:00 p.m. deadline).
Sept. 20, 2018 Thurs. Last day to add a course without a fee. (5:00 p.m. deadline.) The web will be taken down for approximately one hour. Once relaunched, all course adds require Instructor override and will be charged late fee of $15 per course.
Oct. 1, 2018 Mon. Deadline for students currently on non-medical leave to apply for readmission for Semester II.
Oct. 2, 2018 Tues. Last day to add a course (includes late fee), change from audit to credit, or change a grade option declaration (5:00 p.m. deadline).
Oct. 8, 2018 Mon. Indigenous Peoples' Day. No University exercises.
Oct. 9, 2018 Tues. Date by which sophomores entering their 5th semester must file their concentration declaration forms via ASK to avoid having a No Concentration hold placed against their Banner registration (5:00 pm deadline).
Oct. 19, 2018 Fri. Mid-semester deadline. Last day to change from credit to audit in a course (5:00 p.m. deadline).
Oct. 22 - Nov. 2, 2018 Mon.- Fri. Advising period for spring pre-registration. Students in their first through third semesters will need to procure their advising PIN from their advisor in order to register.
Nov. 1, 2018 Thurs. Date by which advisors must approve sophomore submitted concentrations in ASK to avoid having a No Concentration hold placed against the student's Banner registration. (5:00 pm deadline).
Nov. 6 - 13, 2018 Tues. - Tues. Registration for Semester II. (Note: No student will be permitted to register for his or her fifth semester unless an approved declaration of concentration has been filed.)
Nov. 9 , 2018 Fri. Deadline for submission of proposals for College Curriculum Council-approved undergraduate group study projects (GISPs), independent study projects, and internships for credit)for Semester II.
Nov. 13, 2018 Tues. End of the pre-registration period.  
Nov. 14 - Dec 12, 2018 Wed. - Wed. Students on academic probation who wish to drop a course must meet with an academic dean for advising and to obtain drop-code.  (5:00 pm deadline).
Nov. 21 - 25, 2018 Wed. - Sun. Thanksgiving recess beginning Wednesday at noon.
Nov. 26, 2018 Mon. Classes resume.
Dec. 1, 2018 Sat. Deadline for undergraduates to declare a leave for Semester II.
Dec. 1, 2018 Sat. Midyear Completion Celebration at 4:00 p.m. in Salomon De Ciccio Family Auditorium. Reception to follow in Sayles Hall.
Dec. 5, 2018 Wed. Last day of Fall RISD classes.
Dec. 8 - 12, 2018 Sat. - Wed. Reading Period (optional and at the discretion of the instructor.)
Dec. 12, 2018 Wed. Classes end for courses not observing the Reading Period. Last day to drop a course (5:00 p.m. deadline) or to request an incomplete from an instructor. Last day for advisors to approve second or third concentrations in ASK for students in their penultimate semester(for most students this is 7th semester) who are declaring a second/third concentration(5:00 p.m. deadline). *Any declarations not advisor approved and recorded in Banner by the Office of the Registrar by the 5:00 p.m. deadline will not be honored. Last day to initiate a Course Performance Report via ASK.
Dec. 13 - 21, 2018 Thurs. - Fri. Final Examination Period.
Winter 2019
Nov. 14 - 30, 2018 Wed. - Fri. Registration for Wintersession courses (begins at 9:00 A.M.).
Nov. 30, 2018 Fri. Last day to register for a Wintersession course (5:00 p.m. deadline).
Dec. 15, 2018 Sat. Wintersession tuition due.
Dec. 22, 2018 Sat. Wintersession online courses may begin
Jan. 1, 2019 Tues. Residence halls open (for students registered for Wintersession classes only).
Jan. 2, 2019 Wed. Wintersession begins (On-Campus and Destination courses).
Jan. 7, 2019 Mon. Last day to change a grade option declaration.
Jan. 15, 2019 Tues. Last day to drop a course or request an incomplete from an instructor. Last day to initiate a Course Performance Report via ASK.
Jan. 18, 2019 Fri. Final examinations. Wintersession ends.
Spring 2019
Jan. 1, 2019 Tues. Last day for payment of charges.
Jan. 3, 2019 Thurs. First day of RISD Winter Session.
Jan. 10, 2019 Thurs. Last day to register for a Winter RISD course without a fee or change a grade option for a Winter RISD course (5:00 p.m. deadline).
Jan. 21, 2019 Mon. Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday. No University exercises.
Jan. 22, 2019 Tues. Registration of new students for the second semester (4:00 pm to midnight).
Jan. 23, 2019 Wed. Classes of the second semester begin. Web registration begins at 8:00 am. Theses of candidates for Masters and Ph.D. degrees in May (on Semester I registration fee) are due.
Feb. 5, 2019 Tues. Last day to add a course without a fee. (5:00 p.m. deadline) The web will be taken down for approximately one hour. Once relaunched, all course adds require Instructor override and will be charged late fee of $15 per course.
Feb. 6, 2019 Wed. Last day of Winter RISD classes.
Feb. 14, 2019 Thurs. First day of RISD Spring Session.
Feb. 16 - 19, 2019 Sat. - Tues. Long weekend. No University exercises.
Feb. 20, 2019 Wed. Classes resume. Last day to add a course (includes late fee), change from audit to credit, or change a grade option declaration (5:00 p.m. deadline).
Feb. 21, 2019 Thurs. Last day to register for a Spring RISD course without a fee or change a grade option for a Spring RISD course (5:00 p.m. deadline).
March 8, 2019 Fri. Mid-semester deadline. Last day to change from credit to audit in a course (5:00 p.m. deadline).
Mar. 23 - Mar. 31, 2019 Sat. - Sun. Spring Recess.
April 1, 2019 Mon. Deadline for students currently on non-medical leave to apply for readmission for Semester I. Date by which sophomores entering their 5th semester must file their concentration declaration forms via ASK to avoid having a No Concentration hold placed against their Banner registration. (5:00 pm deadline).
April 1, 2019 Mon. Classes resume.
Apr. 1 - Apr. 12, 2019 Mon. - Fri. Advising period for fall pre-registration. Students in their first through third semesters will need to procure their advising PIN from their advisor in order to register.
Apr. 9 - May 7, 2019 Tues. - Tues. Students on academic probation who wish to drop a course must meet with an academic dean for advising and to obtain drop-code. (5:00 pm deadline).
April 11, 2019 Thurs. Date by which advisors must approve sophomore submitted concentrations in ASK to avoid having a No Concentration hold placed against the student's Banner registration. (5:00 pm deadline).
April 12, 2019 Fri. Deadline for submission of proposals for College Curriculum Council-approved undergraduate group study projects (GISPs), independent study projects, and internships for credit)for Semester I.
April 16 - 23, 2019 Tues. - Tues. Registration for Semester I, 2019-20. (Note: No student will be permitted to register for his or her fifth semester unless an approved declaration of concentration has been filed.)
April 23, 2019 Tues. End of the pre-registration period.  
April 26 - May 7, 2019 Fri. - Tues. Reading Period (optional and at the discretion of the instructor).
May 1, 2019 Wed. Deadline for undergraduates to declare a leave for Semester I. Theses of candidates for Masters and Ph.D. degrees in May due.
May 7, 2019 Tues. Classes end for courses not observing the Reading Period. Last day to drop a course (5:00 p.m. deadline) or to request an incomplete from an instructor. Last day for advisors to approve second or third concentrations in ASK for students in their penultimate semester(for most students this is 7th semester) who are declaring a second/third concentration(5:00 p.m. deadline). *Any declarations not advisor approved and recorded in Banner by the Office of the Registrar by the 5:00 p.m. deadline will not be honored. Last day to initiate a Course Performance Report via ASK.
May 8 - 17, 2019 Wed. - Fri. Final Examination Period. (No exams on Sunday May 12).
May 15, 2019 Wed. Last day of Spring RISD classes.
May 26, 2019 Sun. Commencement.