You're logged in as |

Academic Calendar

Summer 2017
March 31 - April 13, 2017 Fri. - Thurs. Pre-registration for Summer courses.
April 14 - 25, 2017 Fri. - Tues. Summer registration closed for Fall registration (online via Banner for continuing students).
April 26 - June 28, 2017 Wed. - Wed. Late registration period for Summer courses.
June 25, 2017 Sun. Residence halls open.
June 26, 2017 Mon. Summer Session begins.
June 28, 2017 Wed. Last day to change courses. (All students MUST be in their registered courses by Thursday, June 29.)
July 4, 2017 Tues. Independence Day holiday. No University exercises.
July 11, 2017 Tues. Last day to change grade options.
Aug 5 - 8, 2017 Sat. - Tues. Reading period.
August 8, 2017 Tues. Last day to drop a course. Last day to initiate a Course Performance Report via ASK.
Aug 9 - Aug 11, 2017 Wed. - Fri. Final examination period.
August 11, 2017 Fri. Summer Session ends.
August 12, 2017 Sat. Residence halls close.
Fall 2017
Aug. 1, 2017 Tues. Last day for payment of charges.
Sept. 1, 2017 Fri. Beginning of Graduate School Orientation.
Sept. 2, 2017 Sat. Beginning of College Orientation.
Sept. 5, 2017 Tues. Opening Convocation at 4:00 p.m. Registration of new students for the first semester (7:00 pm to midnight).
Sept. 6, 2017 Wed. Classes of the first semester begin. Web registration begins at 8:00 a.m.
Sept. 7, 2017 Thurs. First day of RISD Fall Session.
Sept. 14, 2017 Thurs. Last day to register for a Fall RISD course without a fee or change a grade option for a Fall RISD course - (5:00 p.m. deadline).
Sept. 19, 2017 Tues. Last day to add a course without a fee. (5:00 p.m. deadline.) The web will be taken down for approximately one hour. Once relaunched, all course adds require Instructor override and will be charged late fee of $15 per course.
Oct. 3, 2017 Tues. Last day to add a course (includes late fee), change from audit to credit, or change a grade option declaration (5:00 p.m. deadline).
Oct. 9, 2017 Mon. Indigenous Peoples' Day. No University exercises.
Oct. 10, 2017 Tues. Date by which sophomores entering their 5th semester must file their concentration declaration forms via ASK to avoid having a 'No Concentration' hold placed against their Banner registration (5:00 pm deadline).
Oct. 15, 2017 Sun. Deadline for students currently on leave to apply for readmission for Semester II.
Oct. 20, 2017 Fri. Mid-semester deadline. Last day to change from credit to audit in a course (5:00 p.m. deadline).
Oct. 23 - Nov. 3, 2017 Mon.- Fri. Advising period for spring pre-registration. Students in their first through third semesters will need to procure their advising PIN from their advisor in order to register.
Nov. 2, 2017 Thurs. Date by which advisors must approve sophomore submitted concentrations in ASK to avoid having a 'No Concentration' hold placed against the student's Banner registration. (5:00 pm deadline).
Nov. 3 , 2017 Fri. Deadline for submission of proposals for undergraduate group study projects (GISPs) for Semester II.
Nov. 7 - 14, 2017 Tues. - Tues. Registration for Semester II. (Note: No student will be permitted to register for his or her fifth semester unless an approved declaration of concentration has been filed.)
Nov. 14, 2017 Tues. End of the pre-registration period.  
Nov. 22 - 26, 2017 Wed. - Sun. Thanksgiving recess beginning Wednesday at noon.
Nov. 27, 2017 Mon. Classes resume.
Dec. 1, 2017 Fri. Deadline for undergraduates to declare a leave for Semester II.
Dec. 2, 2017 Sat. Midyear Completion Celebration at 4:00 p.m. in Salomon De Ciccio Family Auditorium. Reception to follow in Sayles Hall.
Dec. 6, 2017 Weds. Last day of Fall RISD classes.
Dec. 8 - 12, 2017 Fri. - Tues. Reading Period (optional and at the discretion of the instructor.)
Dec. 12, 2017 Tues. Classes end for courses not observing the Reading Period. Last day to drop a course (5:00 p.m. deadline) or to request an incomplete from an instructor. Last day for advisors to approve second or third concentrations in ASK for students in their penultimate semester(for most students this is 7th semester) who are declaring a second/third concentration(5:00 p.m. deadline). *Any declarations not 'advisor approved' and recorded in Banner by the Office of the Registrar by the 5:00 p.m. deadline will not be honored. Last day to initiate a Course Performance Report via ASK.
Dec. 13 - 21, 2017 Wed. - Thurs. Final Examination Period.
Winter 2018
Nov. 15 - Dec. 1, 2017 Wed. - Fri. Registration for Wintersession courses (begins at 9:00 A.M.).
Dec. 1, 2017 Fri. Last day to register for a Wintersession course (5:00 p.m. deadline).
Dec. 22, 2017 Fri. Wintersession tuition due.
Dec. 22, 2017 Fri. Wintersession online courses may begin
Jan. 1, 2018 Mon. Residence halls open (for students registered for Wintersession classes only).
Jan. 2, 2018 Tue. Wintersession begins (On-Campus and Destination courses).
Jan. 8, 2018 Mon. Last day to change a grade option declaration.
Jan. 15, 2018 Mon. Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday. No University exercises.
Jan. 16, 2018 Tues. Last day to drop a course or request an incomplete from an instructor. Last day to initiate a Course Performance Report via ASK.
Jan. 19, 2018 Fri. Final examinations. Wintersession ends.
Spring 2018
Jan. 1, 2018 Mon. Last day for payment of charges.
Jan. 3, 2018 Wed. First day of RISD Winter Session.
Jan. 10, 2018 Wed. Last day to register for a Winter RISD course without a fee or change a grade option for a Winter RISD course (5:00 p.m. deadline).
Jan. 15, 2018 Mon. Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday. No University exercises.
Jan. 23, 2018 Tues. Registration of new students for the second semester (4:00 pm to midnight).
Jan. 24, 2018 Wed. Classes of the second semester begin. Web registration begins at 8:00 am. Theses of candidates for Masters and Ph.D. degrees in May (on Semester I registration fee) are due.
Feb. 6, 2018 Tues. Last day to add a course without a fee. (5:00 p.m. deadline) The web will be taken down for approximately one hour. Once relaunched, all course adds require Instructor override and will be charged late fee of $15 per course.
Feb. 6, 2018 Tues. Last day of Winter RISD classes.
Feb. 15, 2018 Thurs. First day of RISD Spring Session.
Feb. 17 - 20, 2018 Sat. - Tues. Long weekend. No University exercises.
Feb. 21, 2018 Wed. Classes resume. Last day to add a course (includes late fee), change from audit to credit, or change a grade option declaration (5:00 p.m. deadline).
Feb. 22, 2018 Thurs. Last day to register for a Spring RISD course without a fee or change a grade option for a Spring RISD course (5:00 p.m. deadline).
March 9, 2018 Fri. Mid-semester deadline. Last day to change from credit to audit in a course (5:00 p.m. deadline).
Mar. 24 - Apr. 1, 2018 Sat. - Sun. Spring Recess.
April 1, 2018 Sun. Deadline for students currently on leave to apply for readmission for Semester I. Date by which sophomores entering their 5th semester must file their concentration declaration forms via ASK to avoid having a 'No Concentration' hold placed against their Banner registration. (5:00 pm deadline).
April 2, 2018 Mon. Classes resume.
Apr. 2 - Apr. 13, 2018 Mon. - Fri. Advising period for fall pre-registration. Students in their first through third semesters will need to procure their advising PIN from their advisor in order to register.
April 6, 2018 Fri. Deadline for submission of proposals for undergraduate group study projects (GISPs) for Semester I.
April 12, 2018 Thurs. Date by which advisors must approve sophomore submitted concentrations in ASK to avoid having a 'No Concentration' hold placed against the student's Banner registration. (5:00 pm deadline).
April 17 - 24, 2018 Tues. - Tues. Registration for Semester I, 2018-19. (Note: No student will be permitted to register for his or her fifth semester unless an approved declaration of concentration has been filed.)
April 24, 2018 Tues. End of the pre-registration period.  
April 27 - May 8, 2018 Fri. - Tues. Reading Period (optional and at the discretion of the instructor).
May 1, 2018 Tues. Deadline for undergraduates to declare a leave for Semester I. Theses of candidates for Masters and Ph.D. degrees in May due.
May 8, 2018 Tues. Classes end for courses not observing the Reading Period. Last day to drop a course (5:00 p.m. deadline) or to request an incomplete from an instructor. Last day for advisors to approve second or third concentrations in ASK for students in their penultimate semester(for most students this is 7th semester) who are declaring a second/third concentration(5:00 p.m. deadline). *Any declarations not 'advisor approved' and recorded in Banner by the Office of the Registrar by the 5:00 p.m. deadline will not be honored. Last day to initiate a Course Performance Report via ASK.
May 9 - 18, 2018 Wed. - Fri. Final Examination Period. (No exams on Sunday May 13).
May 16, 2018 Wed. Last day of Spring RISD classes.
May 27, 2018 Sun. Commencement.